Documentation

Getting started

Welcome to Allinvoice.com!  You now have access to a powerful time tracking and invoicing tool for your business.  To begin you may want to customize some basic settings for your business.  To accomplish this you will need to go to the “firm setting” section, which is listed in the drop down under your name in the upper right of the menu bar when logged in as the admin.  On this page you can enter your firm name and contact information to be included in the header of each invoice you generate.  By changing the next invoice number field you can sync the next invoice number with your current invoicing solution.  You can also upload a company logo, set a master time zone for the account and update your theme.

You may also want to check your profile under “my profile” in the same drop down.  Here you can set your personal timezone and update your password.

These two introductory videos will show you how to do some initial account set up work, and how to get started creating clients, projects, employees and invoices.

Below are descriptions of each section of the AllInvoice application and examples of use.

Employees

Allinvoice has four types of users:

Manager: has access to everything in the account.  The videos on this page cover the use of the application when logged in as a manager

Supervisor:  has access to assign workers to projects and edit work sessions

Worker: has ability to log hours on assigned projects

Client contact: This is a client login with read only access to view work sessions and financial data for assigned projects.  Client contacts are created in the Client section of the site.

The first three types of users are located in the Employees section.  To create a new user (other than client contact) you will need to click the “create an employee” button on the employee page.  You will then need to provide a name, email address, password, select the type of user, and provide a timezone.  You can also choose to allow this user to only login from a specific range of IP addresses, or if left blank from anywhere.

Once an employee has been created they will be visible on the employee section, and their information will be visible.  Thus includes name, email, total time worked, role, last login time, and assigned projects.

Clients

Clients are the people or businesses you are doing work for.  Every client can have unlimited projects with different billing rates.  A client has one account balance which all projects draw from as work is being done.

To create a client click “create a client” in the clients section.  You will need to fill in the client’s name and balance information.

  • Allowed balance – this is the amount at which the client’s projects will be stopped and no further work sessions will be allowed.  For example if you are paid in advance for a project at $10/hr in 100 hour blocks of time ($1000) and want the account to be paused if the client is more than one 8 hour day behind in payment you would set the allowed balance to -$80.
  • Refill balance – This is a non-required field.  Setting a refill amount is ideal for businesses that bill in set amounts of money, as opposed to on specific dates.  For example if you business charges clients $10/hr after they have had 100 hours of work done, then you would set the refill balance to -$1000.  When a client reaches the refill balance and invoice will be automatically generated.
  • Refill rate and quantity – These control the amount the automatic invoice will be generated for when the refill balance is reached.  In the previous example if the balance reached -$1000 and the refill rate was set for $10 and the refill quantity set for 100 hours an invoice for $1000 would be generated.

After creating a client they will be visible in the client menu along with their balance information and a utilization percentage.  Utilization is based on the percentage complete between the most recent payment and the refill balance.  For example if the most recent payment was for $1000 and the refill balance was $0 and the account balance is $750 utilization would be 25%.

By clicking on a client you will be able to see detailed information in several different tabs:

  • Summary shows active projects, account balance and how much was invoiced in the current week.
  • Contacts – This tab allows you to create a login for the client, giving them read only access to their projects and financials.
  • Projects shows a summary of all projects assigned to this client, hourly rates and time worked.
  • Invoice shows all invoices and status (paid or unpaid)
  • Transactions shows every activity that has affected this client’s balance, including all work sessions, payments, and gives the manager the ability to enter a manual adjustment to the balance.  For example if you wished to credit a client’s account $500 you could create a $500 adjustment, or if you wished to remove $200 you would create a -$200 adjustment.

Projects

Projects are created for work to be performed in.  Every client can have unlimited projects with differing hourly rates.  To create a project go to the “create a project” button on the projects page.  You will need to select the client from the drop down and enter a name, start date (optional) and hourly rate.  You can also enter any notes.  Once the project has been created it will be visible in the projects menu.  By clicking on the project you can select from available users to assign, and see all work session performed.  If you change the hourly rate for a project, that rate will only be applied to future work sessions, previously completed work sessions will not have the hourly rate changed.

 

Work

The work section is a list of all work sessions completed for the entire account.  You can manually create work sessions as the manager or edit existing work sessions.

 

Invoices

This section displays a list of all invoices for the account.  To create a manual invoice simply click the “create invoice” button.  You will need to select the client, an amount, a description if needed, an invoice number, and choose if the payment should be deposited in the clients account balance.  If you select “yes” the amount invoiced will not update the balance.  This is useful if the client is paying for something not related to hourly work, such as a one time bonus or flat payment for a specific service.

Once an invoice has been created, either manually as described above, or automatically by the refill balance being reached, it will be displayed in the list as “unpaid”.  To mark the invoice as paid simply click the “$” symbol and you will be directed to the record payment page.  The amount displayed is the remaining balance of the invoice amount.  If needed you can change the payment amount, enter a payment method and if needed enter a transaction ID.  If you record a partial payment, the next time you click on the “$” sign for the invoice the remaining balance will be displayed.  The invoice will remain marked as “unpaid” until the full balance has been paid.